Croucher scholar receives Xplorer Prize 2021

25 October 2021

Professor Yao Wang is one of 50 national researchers who has been awarded the Xplorer Prize 2021.

Professor Yao Wang (Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2020 and Innovation Award 2013) from the Department of Physics of the University of Hong Kong (HKU) has been awarded the 2021 Xplorer Prize.

Yao, along with two other scientists from HKU and Chinese University of Hong Kong, are among 50 national awardees.

Yao is Chair Professor of Physics in HKU’s Faculty of Science. His research interests include condensed matter physics, quantum physics and optics, with a focus on two-dimensional materials and their heterostructures.

He has played a decisive role in creating an important new research direction – valley optoelectronics in 2D materials, which aims to exploit quantum degrees of freedom of electrons in future optoelectronic devices.

The Xplorer Prize, supported by Tencent, is one of China’s highest grants for young researchers. The award is presented to scientists under 45 years of age in China, Hong Kong and Macao who demonstrate exceptional quality and innovation in their field of research. Each winner will receive 3 million renminbi over the course of five years.

Professor Yao Wang obtained his BSc from Peking University in 2001, and PhD in physics from University of California, San Diego in 2006. He joined the University of Hong Kong in September 2008, and is the Chair Professor of Physics. Yao received a Croucher Senior Research Fellowship in 2020 and a Croucher Innovation Award in 2013.

To view Yao’s Croucher profile, please click here.