Croucher Foundation News


Croucher Science Week 22 March 2018

Organisers and performers gathered on on 16 March evening to kick off Croucher Science Week 2018.

How to start a company 10 March 2018

Croucher Startup 2.0 selection panel and Prof Dennis Lo spoke at an event organised by the CSA on startup environment in Hong Kong.

68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting 28 February 2018

Two Croucher scholars have been accepted to attend the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting at Lake Constance from 24 to 29 June.

Croucher Science Week 2018 28 January 2018

A new programme introduced in 2018 to stimulate local students' curiosity and science learning

CSA: Chinese New Year Reception 2018 25 January 2018

Croucher scholars gathered to celebrate the Year of Dog.

Croucher scholars receive the State Science and Technology Awards 16 January 2018

Three scholars received the highest honour for their contribution to science development.

Professor Luk Kwai-man wins prestigious John Kraus Antenna Award 30 December 2017

Professor Luk Kwai-man (Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2001) has been conferred the prestigious IEEE AP-S John Kraus Antenna Award for his contributions to the invention of L-shaped Probe Fed Microstrip Antenna and the Magneto-electric Dipole Antenna for Wireless Communications.The IEEE AP-S John Kraus Antenna Award is one of the highest awards in the antenna field globally. Prof Luk is th...

Croucher scholars winning WuXi PharmaTech Life Science and Chemistry Awards 15 December 2017

Congratulations to Prof Lo and Prof Yu.

Croucher Foundation Day Dinner 2017 14 December 2017

The Croucher Foundation held its annual Foundation Day Dinner last Friday, celebrating 38 years of promoting the advancement of science in Hong Kong and commending this year’s recipients of the Senior Research Fellowships.

Professor Mok Ngaiming elected as ASHK member 11 December 2017

Professor Mok Ngai Ming, Edmund and Peggy Tse Professor in Mathematics and Chair of Mathematics at the Faculty of Science of the University of Hong Kong, was elected a member of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong.

Professor Xie Zuowei elected as a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences 28 November 2017

Prof. Xie Zuowei (Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2003) has been elected a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), in recognition of his remarkable contributions in the field of organic chemistry. There are 157 candidates this year, of which 25 are scholars in chemistry. Prof. Xie said, “I am very honoured to have been elected as a CAS Member. I would like to take this opportunity ...

Professor Kenneth Leung elected to prestigious fellowship 16 November 2017

Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee (Croucher Fellowship 2000) has been conferred as a Fellow of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) which currently has about 6500 professional members from over 100 countries.The conferment of SETAC Fellow status aims to recognise excellence and contributions of SETAC members to ecotoxicology, environmental chemistry, risk assessment and/o...

Croucher Scholars Association: In search of Croucher Beach 31 October 2017

The Croucher Scholars Association held its first boat trip in Sai Kung on 29 Oct 2017.

Study reveals new functions of the hippocampus 31 October 2017

HK scientists have made a breakthrough on the connectivity of brain functions.

Rapid growth in out-of-school science in Hong Kong 27 October 2017

The Croucher Foundation conducted the second annual mapping exercise for the out-of-school STEM learning ecosystem in Hong Kong.

MOU signed with Max Planck Society 27 September 2017

First joint postdoctoral fellowship scheme signed with Max Planck Society in Germany.

Congratulations to Dr Suzanne So on her UGC Teaching Award 8 September 2017

Dr Suzanne So Ho-wai (Croucher Scholarship 2009), Assistant Professor of the Department of Psychology, has been awarded the UGC Teaching Award, for adopting an innovative pedagogical approach in clinical psychology training.

First Neutron Beam for CSNS 2 September 2017

The China Spallation Neutron Source (CSNS) has successfully produced its very first neutron beam on 28th August 2017.

End of Summer Bash 2017 31 August 2017

The Croucher Scholars Association held its third event on 31 August to celebrate the start of fall semester.

Professor Kenneth Leung selected for the 2016 Biwako Prize for Ecology 30 August 2017

Congratulations to Professor Leung for being awarded the Biwako Prize for Ecology 2016.